Does England Use Euros?

England, as part of the United Kingdom, is the most notable member of the European Union—at least, until 2019—that has elected not to use the euro.

Rather, the United Kingdom uses the pound sterling as its national currency.

Can I use euro in London?

The euro is the official currency of the European Union and is used in the large majority of E.U. member states. The U.K. was always an exception. While it is not an official currency in London, the city’s status as a financial and tourism center means that you will find some places where it is accepted.

What currency is used in England?

Pound sterling

Will the UK be forced to join the euro?

The United Kingdom has never sought to adopt the euro as its official currency for the duration of its membership of the European Union (EU), and secured an opt-out at the euro’s creation via the Maastricht Treaty in 1992.

Where is the euro accepted?

The euro. You can use the euro in 19 EU countries: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain.